Mesha RashifalKarka RashifalVrishchika RashifalMakara RashifalKumbha RashifalRashifal
Sign InSign In SIGN IN

Maha Lakshmi | Goddess Shri | Goddess of Wealth

Useful Tips on
Shri Lakshmi
Maha Lakshmi
Shri Maha Lakshmi is the goddess of wealth, prosperity and fortune. She is the embodiment of love and beauty. She is the consort of Lord Vishnu. She came out of the ocean during the great churning of Milky-Ocean, known as Kshir-Sagara. Shri Lakshmi, herself only, chose Lord Vishnu as Her husband. Maha Lakshmi is also known as Shri.

Lakshmi Family
According to some religious texts, Maha Lakshmi was the daughter of Bhrigu Maharishi, one of the Saptarshis. She was reborn during the churning of the ocean. Mahalakshmi chose Lord Vishnu as Her husband and resides with Him in Vaikuntha. Shri Lakshmi incarnated as Goddess Sita and Goddess Radha along with Lord Rama and Lord Krishna incarnations of Lord Vishnu.

It is believed that Goddess Lakshmi has 18 sons named Devasakha, Chiklita, Ananda, Kardam, Shriprada, Jataveda, Anuraga, Samvada, Vijaya, Vallabha, Mada, Harsha, Bala, Teja, Damaka, Salila, Guggula, Kuruntaka.

Lakshmi Iconography
Shri Lakshmi is depicted with four hands while either sitting or standing on the lotus flower. She holds lotus flowers in two of the upper hands. One of the lower hands is in Varad Mudra through which She bestows wealth and prosperity. The other lower hand is shown in Abhaya Mudra through which She bestows courage and strength to Her devotees.

She is shown wearing red clothes and adorned with gold jewelry. She has calm and soothing expressions. She is shown sitting in a beautiful garden or in blue-ocean.

She is surrounded with either two or four white elephants giving Her Abhishekam with the water. Her Vahana i.e. mounts are white elephant and owl.

Lakshmi Festivals and Vrats
Lakshmi Mantra
Lakshmi Incarnations and Swaroop
  • Adi Lakshmi - the primal mother goddess
  • Dhana Lakshmi - the one who showers wealth
  • Dhanya Lakshmi - the one who gives abundance of food/cereals
  • Gaja Lakshmi - the one who gives power and strength
  • Santana Lakshmi - the one who blesses with off-springs and progeny
  • Veera Lakshmi - the one who gives valor and courage
  • Vijaya Lakshmi - the one gives victory over all sort of enemies
  • Aishwarya Lakshmi - the one gives all sort of comforts and luxuries
The above, 8 forms of Maha Lakshmi are collectively known as Ashtalakshmi. Apart from these 8 forms, Goddess Lakshmi is also worshipped in following Swaroops.
  • Vidya Lakshmi - the one who gives wisdom and knowledge
  • Saubhagya Lakshmi - the one who blesses with good luck
  • Rajya Lakshmi - the one who gives kingdom and property
  • Vara Lakshmi - the one who bestows boons
  • Dhairya Lakshmi - the one who gives patience
Lakshmi Temples
  • Laxminarayan Temple, New Delhi
  • Mahalakshmi Temple, Mumbai
  • Mahalakshmi Temple, Kolhapur
  • Mahalakshmi Golden Temple, Sripuram
  • Lakshmi Devi Temple, Doddagaddavalli
  • Ashtalakshmi Kovil Temple, Chennai
  • Ashtalakshmi Temple, Hyderabad
  • Lakshmi Temple, Khajuraho
facebook button